Mpindi and Lugave in five goal thriller as Bika football tournament kicks off

first_img Tags: Bika football tournamentlugavempindi Mpindi players celebrating one of the goals on Saturday (photo by CBS media)Bika Football Tournament Mpindi 3-2 LugaveSt. Mary’s Stadium, KitendeSaturday, 12-05-2018.The opening day of the Bika Football Tournament saw goals aplenty as Mpindi defeated Lugave 3-2 at the St. Mary’s stadium in Kitende.Mpindi who have won the title on two occasions had Brian Majwega, Juma Ssebaduka Umar Mboowa for the goals that have them a winning start.Vipers midfielder Brian Nkuubi and former Express forward Paddy Tebusweke scored for Lugave but their goals weren’t enough to book a berth in the next round.From the start Mpindi looked a better side and as early as the 6th minute, Brian Majwega put them in the lead through a well taken free-kick from over 30 yards.12 minutes later Brian Nkuubi managed to get an equaliser through one of his routine thunderbolt strikes from outside the box past helpless Solomon Mboowa in the Mpindi goal.Juma Ssebaduka restored Mpindi’s lead finishing off a well laid pass from captain Yuda Mugalu a minute after the resumption of the game.In the 56th and 62nd minutes Ezekiel Katende and Abraham Ndugwa were replaced by strikers Karim Ndugwa and Ibrahim Lubinga respectively as Lugave searched for a leveller.Mpindi continued to put up relentless attacks through Juma Ssebaduka, Yuda Mugalu and Ivan Mboowa but the Lugave goalkeeper Hussein Ndugwa rose up to the occasion to save his side.Mpindi left back Lawrence Bakiranze was booked for foul language towards referee Emmanuel Kiryowa in the 73rd minute.Umar Mboowa stretched Mpindi’s lead when capitalized on a goal mouth scramble to net home his side’s 3rd of the day in the 84th minute.In the 90th minute Lugave were reduced to 10 men when Karim Ndugwa was sent off for foul play on Umar Ntulume.Paddy Tebusekwe managed to pull another one back for Lugave in the added minutes but it was not enough to see them through.The tournament was officially opened by His Highness the Kabaka of Buganda, Ronaldo Muwenda Mutebi II.Mpindi XISolomon Mboowa (GK), Lawrence Bakilanze, Ronald Mugalu, Patrick Mboowa, Ivan Mboowa, Yuda Mugalu (C), Andrew Kiwanuka, Umar Muleme, Umar Mboowa, Juma Ssebaduka, Brian Majwega.Lugave XIHussein Ndugwa (GK), Noah Ssemakula (C), Brian Nkuubi, Bashir Mutanda, Julius Mutyaba, Ezekiel Katende, Abraham Ndugwa, Arnold Sserunjogi, Brian Nakatanza, Sande Mukiibi, Samson MutyabaComments last_img read more