Wilson returned as president of East Bank Football Association

first_img… Continued emphasis to be placed on youth developmentFOLLOWING the Annual General Meeting and Elections of the East Bank Football Association (EBFA) last Sunday at the Kuru Kururu Youth Centre, Linden/Soesdyke Highway, Franklin Wilson was returned as president.Elections which were conducted by Guyana Football Federation (GFF) Technical Development Officer, Lyndon France, saw Kevin Anthony and Noel Harry retain their posts as respective First and Second vice-presidents.Also returning was secretary, Wayne Francois. New additions are Ms Dawn Joseph (treasurer), Ms Abigale Scott (assistant secretary/treasurer) and Devon Winter, Dillion Roberts, Orein Angoy and Owan Wills as ordinary members.One Ordinary Member position is still outstanding due to the absence of the proposed individual. This position would be filled subsequently as per constitution.France in remarks congratulated the affiliated EBFA clubs for displaying a high degree of maturity and collectivity with regard to proposing and ratifying a single list of persons that would continue the development of the sport on the East Bank.Wilson in response expressed the association’s gratitude to France, Mr Richard Groden and the GFF for its support in overseeing and conducting the elections.The president also thanked the clubs for reposing a high degree of trust in him and fellow executive members to continue running the affairs of the EBFA for another two years.The meeting was brought up to date with the progress of the association ever since the last AGM and elections in October 2015 at the same venue by way of an address by the President and the Secretary’s Activity Report.The Audited Financial Statement, done by W.E James Consultancy Audit, Accounting & Taxation was also presented to the AGM and subsequently approved.Continued emphasis would be placed on youth development throughout the association where the EBFA would also be organising its own tournament other than those provided by the federation the likes of the GFF/NAMILCO Intra Association and the Pele Alumni Under-15.The NAMILCO league which is nearing its end has been played for two rounds, attracting a total of eight clubs. The Pele U-15 will commence shortly. Also being played is the 2nd annual Ralph Green-sponsored Under-11 league/KO competition which has also attracted eight teams.Kuru Kururu Warriors FC, despite not being able to field a team for the competition, were recipients of 15 association-branded tee-shirts as well as a branded ball by the EBFA, as a means of encouragement for the club which have been excelling on and off the field of play.The EBFA would continue to work closely with the GFF to ensure it achieves fully trained coaches at each club as well as to increase the referee’s pool apart from having club administrators exposed to the relevant training that would assist in the achievement of properly functioning and effective clubs.All the clubs were complimented for their efforts to compete in tournaments; Highway United, on the verge of receiving full membership, and Kuru Kururu Warriors were commended for their unflinching investment in ensuring participation in competitions.Meanwhile, the association will be running off a one-day 5-a-side women’s tournament to help stimulate and encourage the development of the female arm of the sport. Kuru Kururu Warriors have the lone female team in the association.This scenario is expected to change following this tournament which would be held at Kuru Kururu, with one bicycle at stake for the Most Valuable Player along with trophies and medals for the top two teams.The aforementioned items have been donated by the Rose Hall Town Youth and Sports Club which also presented a number of hand rags to the association that were handed over to the clubs last Sunday.last_img read more